Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP) Chairperson 2013-2016

A former Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP) Chairperson 2013-2016 is Rt Hon. Rebecca Kadaga MP. A lawyer by profession, she holds a Master's Degree and is currently the Speaker of Parliament of Uganda, the third highest position in the national leadership of Uganda. She was the Deputy Speaker of Parliament of Uganda from 2001 to 2011.

From 1986-1999, she won accolades of distinguished service in many portfolios when she served as a Cabinet/State Minister. She has held a number of high profile positions and played a leading role in women empowerment activities at national and international levels.

She has been the Vice Chairperson of Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (International) as well as an Executive Committee Member of the Inter-Parliamentary Union Assembly representing Africa. She has been the Chairperson of Commonwealth Women Parliamentarian Africa Region where she is spearheading a campaign of engaging leaders of political parties to appreciate the value of increasing the number of women in high positions of leadership.

Please click on the following link for a selection of the CWP Chairperson's articles for The Parliamentarian.

Previous CWP Chairpersons include:
- The Hon. Alix Boyd Knights, MHA and Speaker, Parliament of Dominica - please click on the following link for a selection of her articles for The Parliamentarian.
- Ms Kashmala Tariq, MNA, National Assembly of Pakistan
- Hon. Lindiwe Maseko, MPL, Speaker, Provincial Legislature of Gauteng, South Africa