Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Chairperson elected at the 63rd CPA General Assembly

Hon. Emilia Monjowa Lifaka, MP, Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly of Cameroon has been elected as the Chairperson of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) International Executive Committee at the 63rd CPA General Assembly. The new Chairperson of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) International Executive Committee was elected for a three-year term at the General Assembly that took place in Dhaka, Bangladesh as part of the wider 63rd Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference. The new Chairperson succeeds the outgoing CPA President and Chairperson of the CPA International Executive Committee, Hon. Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury MP, Speaker of the Parliament of Bangladesh.

Hon. Emilia Monjowa Lifaka, MP entered the National Assembly of Cameroon in 2002, following a 21 year career as a civil servant and has been the Deputy Speaker since 2009. Hon. Lifaka has been a member of the Committee on Finance and the Budget, Constitutional Law and the National Commission on Human Rights and Freedoms as well as Vice-President of the Association of African Female Ministers and Parliamentarians. Hon. Lifaka has been regularly engaged in the CPA since 2007, attending regional and international meetings and held the position of Vice-Chairperson of the CPA Executive Committee from 2016-2017 and Alternate President of the CPA during the hosting of the 60th Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference in Cameroon. 

The Secretary-General of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, Mr Akbar Khan said: “I congratulate Hon. Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury MP, the outgoing CPA Chairperson for the important achievements she has made during her term in office. On behalf of the entire CPA membership, we are incredibly grateful to her for her leadership over the past three years. I very much look forward to working with Hon. Emilia Monjowa Lifaka, MP from Cameroon, the new CPA Chairperson during the next three years and wish her all the very best in this important role to build on the achievements of her predecessor.”  

Under CPA election rules only Branch delegates to the 63rd Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference are entitled to vote in the election of a new CPA Chairperson. There were three candidates for the position: Hon. Emilia Monjowa Lifaka, MP (Cameroon); Hon. Shirley M. Osborne, MLA (Montserrat); Hon. Niki Rattle (Cook Islands).

Following her election, the new CPA Chairperson chaired the new CPA Executive Committee and during the meeting, Hon. Alexandra Mendes, MP (Canada Federal) was confirmed as the new Vice-Chairperson of the CPA Executive Committee. Please click here for details.

Social Media: Twitter #63CPC @CPA_Secretariat | | 

Published on Tuesday 7 November 2017.


Notes to Editors

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA), now in its 106th year with HM The Queen, Head of the Commonwealth as its Patron, exists to develop, promote and support Parliamentarians and their staff to identify benchmarks of good governance and to implement the enduring values of the Commonwealth. The CPA is an international community of over 180 Commonwealth Parliaments and Legislatures working together to deepen the Commonwealth’s commitment to the highest standards of democratic governance. Parliaments, their Members and officials learn from each other through CPA activities: Annual Commonwealth Parliamentary Conferences, Regional Conferences and other symposiums; Interparliamentary visits; Parliamentary Seminars and Workshops; Publications including The Parliamentarian, the Journal of Commonwealth Parliaments; and the Parliamentary Information and Reference Centre. 

For further information about the CPA, please contact:

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association
CPA Secretariat, Westminster House, 
Suite 700, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA, 
United Kingdom  T: 44-20-7799-1460 
F: 44-20-7222-6073 

For media enquiries, please contact