International Day of Democracy 2017

September 2017 marks the 20th anniversary of the Universal Declaration on Democracy, adopted in Cairo in September 1997. Ten years later, in 2007, the United Nations General Assembly reaffirmed the declaration by instituting the International Day of Democracy on 15 September each year. 

The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) is marking this special day and celebrating International Day of Democracy in its 180 Branches in Parliaments and Legislatures across the Commonwealth.

The Chairperson of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA), Hon. Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, MP, Speaker of the Parliament of Bangladesh has issued a goodwill message today on the occasion of International Day of Democracy 2017.  
Please see below for the video message by the CPA Chairperson, Hon. Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury MP, on the occasion of International Day of Democracy 2017:

Please click here to view the message on the CPA's Youtube channel.

The Secretary-General of the CPA, Mr Akbar Khan also posted on CPA social media his support for the International Day of Democracy 2017 #StrongerDemocracies campaign and petition. 


Statement issued Friday 15 September 2017

For further information about the CPA, please contact: 
Commonwealth Parliamentary Association 
CPA Headquarters Secretariat
Westminster House, Suite 700, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA, United Kingdom. 
T: +44 (0) 20 7799 1460. F: +44 (0) 20 7222 6073. 

For media and general information enquiries, please contact
Visit the CPA Secretariat website at
Follow us on Twitter @CPA_Secretariat or