CPA Webinar: Lawyers, Parliamentarians and the Rule of Law




Register to join the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) and the Commonwealth Lawyers Association (CLA) for this engaging webinar on the Rule of Law.

Lawyers and Parliamentarians from across the Commonwealth will discuss their respective roles and boundaries in relation to the Commonwealth Latimer House Principles and the Separation of Powers.
• How do we co-operate for the good of all?
• What are their respective roles in properly holding governments to account?
• What are the challenges in post pandemic democracies?

DATE: Tuesday 27th April 2021
TIME: 1.00 pm BST (UK) / 7.00 am EST (Caribbean) / 3.00pm EAT (East Africa) / 8.00pm MYT (Malaysia)
 
To register: please click here.


Webinar Co-Chairs: Brian Speers, President of the Commonwealth Lawyers Association (CLA) and Emily Davies, Head of Secretary-General’s Private Office, Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

Panellists:
• Judge Zak Yacoob, Justice of the Constitutional Court of South Africa, Rtd
• Senator Hon. Alincia Williams-Grant, President of the Senate of Antigua and Barbuda
• Hon. Mohamed Nasheed, Speaker of The People’s Majlis of Maldives
• Oluseun (‘Seun) Abimbola, SAN., Chairman of the Section on Legal Practice and a previous Attorney General of Oyo State, Nigeria

We look forward to welcoming attendees for the session and there will be a Q&A opportunity following the panellists’ contributions. 

If you would like to submit a question prior to the webinar please email your name and question to avni.kondhia@cpahq.org referencing this event.


If you have any questions regarding this webinar please email hq.sec@cpahq.org.



-ENDS-

For further information about the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association's programmes, seminars and resources for all Commonwealth Parliamentarians or to find out about programmes available for your Parliament or Legislature please contact the CPA Headquarters Secretariat via hq.sec@cpahq.org.

Updated 08/04/2021/CPAHQ