Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP) Chairperson Hon. Dr Dato' Noraini Ahmad MP  

The current Chairperson of the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP) is Hon. Dr Dato’ Dr Noraini Ahmad, MP, Member of the Federal Parliament of Malaysia and Chair of the Malaysia External Trade Development Corporation (MATRADE).

The new Chairperson of the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians was elected for a three-year term at the CWP Business Meeting at the fifth triennial conference of the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP) that took place in London, United Kingdom as part of the wider 62nd Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference. In the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, Hon. Dr Dato' Noraini Ahmad MP was a Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP) Steering Committee Member until 2013 and is currently the CPA South East Asia Regional Representative on the CPA International Executive Committee. Hon. Dato' Noraini Ahmad has pledged to renew the effort to increase women's political participation across the Commonwealth. 

Elected to the Malaysian Parliament for the first time in 2008, she was appointed as the Deputy Human Resources Minister of Malaysia, whilst also leading various federal agencies including the Malaysian Network Information Centre, Astronautic Technology, and the Investment Agency for People’s Trust Fund. In 2013, she was announced as the first female chair of MATRADE, the Malaysia External Trade Development Corporation, whilst also being appointed to the board of the advisory committee to the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Agency. 

Hon. Noraini Ahmad, MP has been continually involved, at both the regional and international level, in her work on women, notably as the Secretary-General of Barisan National Women’s Wing, having also held the position of leader of UMNO’s women’s youth wing. She is also the Honorary Secretary of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) Malaysia Branch. She has represented the Malaysian Federal Parliament at various international and Commonwealth meetings including the International Parliamentary Union (IPU), the World Trade Organisation (WTO) and she is currently the Honorary Treasurer of the Asian Forum for Parliamentarians on Population and Development.

In recognition of her contributions Hon. Noraini Ahmad, MP was awarded the Distinguished Title by the Malacca Head of State and the King of Pahang. At an international level, she has received the Friendship Award from the Japanese Government and the New Zealand Prime Minister’s ASEAN Fellowship in 2008.

The Hon. CWP Chairperson was elected to the role during the 62nd Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference, which took place from 11-17 December 2016 in London, United Kingdom.

Previous Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP) Chairpersons include:
Rt Hon. Rebecca Kadaga MP (Uganda)
- Hon. Alix Boyd Knights MHA (Dominica)
Ms Kashmala Tariq MNA, (Pakistan)
- Hon. Lindiwe Maseko, MP (South Africa)

Following the election of the new Chairperson of the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP), the Steering Committee of the CWP representing all nine regions of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) met to elect Hon. Poto Williams MP (New Zealand) as the new Vice Chairperson for the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP)


The Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP) was founded in 1989 to increase the number of female elected representatives in Parliaments and legislatures across the Commonwealth and to ensure that women’s issues are brought to the fore in parliamentary debate and legislation.The Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP) is the network of women Members of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association's Parliaments and Legislatures. The CWP network provides a means of building the capacity of women elected to Parliament to be more effective in their roles; improving the awareness and ability of all Parliamentarians, male and female, and encouraging them to include a gender perspective in all aspects of their role - legislation, oversight and representation and helping parliaments to become gender-sensitive institutions. 

The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA), now in its 106th year with HM The Queen, Head of the Commonwealth as its Patron, exists to develop, promote and support Parliamentarians and their staff to identify benchmarks of good governance and to implement the enduring values of the Commonwealth. The CPA is an international community of over 180 Commonwealth Parliaments and Legislatures working together to deepen the Commonwealth’s commitment to the highest standards of democratic governance. Parliaments, their Members and officials learn from each other through CPA activities: Annual Commonwealth Parliamentary Conferences, Regional Conferences and other symposiums; Inter-parliamentary visits; Parliamentary Seminars and Workshops; Publications including The Parliamentarian, the Journal of Commonwealth Parliaments; and the Parliamentary Information and Reference Centre. 

For further information about the CWP and the CPA, please contact: 

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association 
CPA Headquarters Secretariat
T: 0044 (0)20 7799 1460 
For media enquiries, please contact

Updated 15/05/2017/CPAHQ