Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP)


The Organisational Structure of the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP)

The current CWP Chairperson is Hon. Shandana Gulzar Khan, MNA of the National Assembly of Pakistan. The Chairperson of the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians was elected for a three-year term at the CWP Business Meeting at the sixth triennial conference of the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP) that took place in Kampala, Uganda in September 2019 as part of the wider 64th Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference.

CWP International Steering Committee
A CWP Steering Committee of 11 Women Members (9 representing the CPA Regions plus the CWP Chairperson and CWP President) plan its activities. Each Steering Committee Member serves for a term of three years. Every year, three member (one third of the Committee) rotates off the Steering Committee and is replaced by three new Members, this means there is always a level of continuity on the Committee. 

The President of the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarian (CWP) is an honorary position, usually held for a one-year term by a leading figure nominated by the Branch hosting the next Annual Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference. All other Members of the CWP Steering Committee, including the Chairperson, hold a three-year term.

The CWP Strategic Plan is available to download here and outlines the strategic aims of the organisation.

For further information including the aims of the CWP
, please contact the CPA Secretariat on

In addition to CWP International, there are regional groups of the CWP with their own steering committees and programmes of activities. For further information on CWP activities within CPA regions, please click here.