The Parliament of Cameroon

Population 19,711,291 (est2011)
Seat of Parliament Yaounde
Date of Independence 1960
Constitution Republic
CPA Branch Formed 1995
Voting Age 21
First Parliament 10 Apr 1960
Local Information The National Assembly of Cameroon is run by a Bureau composed of: - A Speaker - One (1) Senior Deputy Speaker - Five (5) Deputy Speakers - Four (4) Questors - Twelve (12) Secretaries

Branch Profile Current constitution
The current constitution is that of 1972, under which the federal system was replaced by a unitary republic, but extensively modified in 1990, to allow for a return from one-party rule to a multiparty system. In 1996 the presidential term was extended from five to seven years; provision was also made for the establishment of a second legislative chamber, but this has not been implemented. The constitution was amended in early 2008 to remove the limit on presidential terms. Cameroon became a member of the Commonwealth in November 1995.

Head of state and Executive
The head of state is a president, directly elected by universal adult suffrage. The president's term of office is seven years.
The president appoints the ministers, including the prime minister, who is head of government.

The unicameral legislature, the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale), has 180 members, directly elected for a five-year term.
Assemblée Nationale - National Assembly (unicameral) (Senate to be created)

Principal parties
Cameroon Democratic Union (UDC); Cameroon People's Democratic Movement (RDPC); National Union for Democracy and Progress (UNDP); Social Democratic Front (SDF); Union of the Peoples of Cameroon (UPC).
Most recent elections
Presidential: 9 October 2011.

Paul Biya (RDPC) 78.0%; Ni John Fru Ndi (SDF) 10.7%; 21 other candidates.

Incumbent president Paul Biya was re-elected in 2011: he first came to power under the one-party system in 1982.

Legislative: 30 September 2013.


RDPC 148 seats; SDF 18 seats; UNDP 5 seats; UDC 4seats; UPC 3 seats; others 2 seats.

The RDPC, led by President Biya, retained its overall majority of seats in the National Assembly in the 2013 elections.

Composition of government
Philemon Yang was appointed prime minister on 30 June 2009, with a reshuffled cabinet, dominated by the RDPC as before but with the UNDP leader retaining his ministerial post.
The cabinet was reshuffled on 9 December 2011, after President Biya?s inauguration for a new term as president.

Several items of information were provided by People in Power.

Chamber 1

Chamber National Assembly
No of Seats 180
No of Women 25
Date of Last Election 30 Sep 2013
Term 5 years
No of Parties 5

Chamber 2

No of Seats 0
No of Women 0
Date of Last Election
No of Parties 0


Number of Departmental/Ministry Oversight Committees: Nine
Number of Joint Committees (if bicameral): NA
Names of House Management (such as Privileges or Procedure) Committees: Finance and Budget; Foreign Affairs; Economic Affairs, Planning and Regional Development; Education, Vocational Training and Youth; Cultural, Social and Family Affairs; Production and Trade; Resolutions and Petitions; National Defense and Security; and Constitutional Laws, Human Rights and Freedoms, Justice, Legislation, Standing Orders, and Administration.


Are reports or recommendations from committees debated in the Chamber: Yes
Must Ministers provide substantive responses to committee reports/recommendations and, if so, what is the time limit for providing responses? Ministers must provide substantive responses to committee reports/recommendations. There is no time limit as focus is on questions and no time.


Does Parliament or a committee have formal input into the formulation of the budget? Yes
What is the normal time between the presentation of the budget to Members and its passage by Parliament? 30 days is the normal time between the presentation of the budget to Members and its passage by Parliament.

Committee staffing

How much Chamber and committee time is normally spent in scrutinizing the budget prior to passage? 1 or 2 days in the Chamber and several days in committees.
Number of Clerks to service committees: One per committee
Do committees have access to subject specialist researchers from parliamentary staff? No
Do committees have access to funds to hire external subject specialist advisors? No

Members of Parliament/Legislature

Name Position Address Title Contact Info
Mr Joseph Njang Mbah-Ndam Branch Vice-President National Assembly of Cameroon
CPA Cameroon Branch
PO Box 4808
Chairman of the Opposition Parliamentary Group P: +237 2222 54 16
F: (237) 223 1535, 222 0979
Cavaye Yeguie Djibril, MP Branch President National Assembly of Cameroon
CPA Cameroon Branch
PO Box 4808
Speaker of the National Assembly P: (+237) 2222 5416/5724
F: (237) 2222 09 79
Mr Victor Yene Ossomba Branch Secretary National Assembly of Cameroon
CPA Cameroon Branch
PO Box 4808
Secretary-General P: +237 2222 54 16
F: (237) 223 1535, 222 0979