The Parliament of Mauritius

Population 1,303,717 (est2011)
Seat of Parliament Port Louis
Date of Independence Mar 12 1968
Constitution Republic
CPA Branch Formed 1934
Voting Age 18
First Parliament
Local Information
Branch Profile Current Constitution: 1968, when became independent within the Commonwealth. Constitutional amendments taking effect in March 1992 created the republic of Mauritius, replacing the British Sovereign as Head of State. The National Assembly, in November 2001, approved amendments to the Constitution giving a considerable degree of autonomy to the island of Rodrigues. Political make-up of Government: The l'Alliance de l'Avenir led by Dr the Honourable Navinchandra Ramgoolam, GCSK, FRCP, won a majority of seats in the National Assembly in the 2010 election. Dr the Honourable Navinchandra Ramgoolam was Prime Minister from 1995 to 2000, 2005-2010 and was re-elected on 05 May 2010.The new government was sworn in on 11 May 2010.

Chamber 1

Chamber National Assembly
No of Seats 69
No of Women 13
Date of Last Election 05 May 2010
Term 5 years
No of Parties 3

Chamber 2

No of Seats 0
No of Women 0
Date of Last Election
No of Parties 0


Number of Departmental/Ministry Oversight Committees: None
Number of Joint Committees (if bicameral): None
Names of House Management (such as Privileges or Procedure) Committees: None


Are reports or recommendations from committees debated in the Chamber: No
Must Ministers provide substantive responses to committee reports/recommendations and, if so, what is the time limit for providing responses? No response required


Does Parliament or a committee have formal input into the formulation of the budget? No
What is the normal time between the presentation of the budget to Members and its passage by Parliament? It is about one month between the presentation of the budget to Members and its passage by Parliament.

Committee staffing

How much Chamber and committee time is normally spent in scrutinizing the budget prior to passage? The Budget is Scrutinized by the Committee of Supply in the Chamber for about one week.
Number of Clerks to service committees: We do not have Committee staffing. Committees are served by the Clerk, the Deputy Clerk and the Clerk Assistant.
Do committees have access to subject specialist researchers from parliamentary staff? No, but research are entertained upon request by the Senior Library Officer.
Do committees have access to funds to hire external subject specialist advisors?

Members of Parliament/Legislature

Name Position Address Title Contact Info
B. S. Lotun Branch Secretary Place d'Armes
National Assembly
Port Louis
Clerk of Parliament P: (+230) 208-0691, 201-1414
F: (+230) 212-8364
Hon. Abdool Razack Mahome Peeroo, GOSK, SC Branch President Place d'Armes
National Assembly
Port Louis
Speaker of the National Assembly P: (+230) 208-0691, 201-1414
F: (+230) 212-8364