CPA Academy

Parliament of Botswana

Hon. Phandu Chaka Skelemani MP, Speaker of the National Assembly
CPA Botswana Branch President
Parliament of Botswana
Barbara Dithapo, Clerk of the National Assembly
CPA Botswana Branch Secretary
Parliament of Botswana

Joined the Commonwealth: 30 September 1966

CPA Branch formed: 1 January 1962 (as Bechuanaland); 1 January 1966 (as Botswana)

Unicameral/Bicameral: Unicameral - National Assembly (65)

Parliament/Legislature website: Parliament of Botswana

Number of Departmental/Ministry Oversight Committees:
16 Public Accounts Committee; Statutory Bodies and State Enterprises Committee; Subsidiary Legislation Committee; Finance and Estimates Committee; Wildlife, Tourism, Natural Resources and Climate Change Portfolio Committee; Agriculture, Lands and Housing Portfolio Committee; Foreign Affairs, Defence, Justice, Security and Government Assurances Portfolio Committee; Finance, Trade and Economic Development Portfolio Committee; Communications, Works, Transport and Technology Portfolio Committee; Labour and Home Affairs Portfolio Committee; Health and HIV/AIDS Portfolio Committee; Governance and Oversight Portfolio Committee; Public Service and its Management Portfolio Committee; Education and Skills Development Portfolio Committee; Youth, Sports, Arts and Culture Portfolio Committee; Local Governance and Social Welfare Portfolio Committee

Names of House Management (such as Privileges or Procedure) Committees:
Committee of Selection; Standing Orders and Reforms Committee; Committee on National Assembly Staff; Committee on Member's Rights, Interests and Privileges; Business Advisory Committee; Committee on Chairpersons of Parliamentary Committees

Articles in The Parliamentarian (2013-2021):


Key Facts

Date of Independence
30 Sep 1966
CPA Branch Formed
01 Jan 1967
Voting Age
Seat of Parliament