66th CPC - Event Hub
Where We Work

Australia Region


The Federal Parliament of Australia is one of the founding members of the CPA. Within the CPA Australia Region, there are 9 CPA Branches: Australian Capital Territory; Federal Parliament of Australia (also known as the Commonwealth of Australia); New South Wales; Northern Territory; Queensland; South Australia; Tasmania; Victoria; and Western Australia.

The Australia Region Management Committee for the CPA comprises representatives from each of the CPA Branches within the Region and meets on an annual basis to consider the planning of the future programme of activities for the CPA in the Region. This includes Regional Conferences, which are usually held in jointly with the CPA Pacific Region. The Chair of the Australia Region Management Committee rotates annually among the Region’s Branches (currently Northern Territory).

The CPA Australia Region has three Regional Representatives on the CPA International Executive Committee.

The Region is most active in its twinning programme between the Australian Legislatures and their CPA Pacific legislative counterparts. More about the twinning programme can be found here. 

The CPA Australia Region also has a CWP Steering Committee comprising one female Parliamentarian from each Branch within the Region. The Committee plans the work of CWP in the region and the current Chair of CWP Australia is: Hon. Michelle O'Byrne MLA (Tasmania).

The CPA Australia Regional Secretariat is based within the Federal Parliament of Australia.

Learn more about the work of the Region


The current CPA Australia Regional Chairperson is:

Hon. Curtis Pitt MP, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Queensland

Address: Queensland Legislative Assembly, Parliament House, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia

Email: CPA.Queensland@parliament.qld.gov.au 

Phone: (+61-7) 3406-7185

The current CPA Australia Regional Secretary is:

Ms Alex Cullum
c/o Parliament of Australia, PO Box 6021, Parliament House, Canberra ACT 2600, Australia

Email: cpa@aph.gov.au   

Phone: +61 2 6277 4339

Fax: +61 2 6277 2000


Related News

Commonwealth Day 2021

Commonwealth Day 2021

CPA celebrates Commonwealth Day 2021 across its 180 Parliaments and Legislatures

International Mother Language Day 2021

International Mother Language Day 2021

Commonwealth Parliamentarians celebrate the diversity of languages in the Commonwealth