The Academy

Parliament of Tasmania

Hon., Michelle O'Byrne, MP
CPA Tasmania Branch President
Parliament of Tasmania
Catherine Vickers, Deputy Clerk in the Legislative Council
CPA Tasmania Branch Secretary
Parliament of Tasmania

Presiding Officer(s): Hon. Mark Shelton, MP, Speaker of the House of Assembly of Tasmania and Hon. Craig Farrell, MLC, President of the Legislative Council of Tasmania

Joined the Commonwealth: 29 April 1949

CPA Branch formed: 1 January 1930

Unicameral/Bicameral: Bicameral - House of Assembly (25), Legislative Council (15)

Parliament/Legislature website: Parliament of Tasmania

Standing Orders: House of Assembly

Legislative Council


Number of Departmental/Ministry Oversight Committees: House of Assembly: 1, Legislative Council: 6 (Select Committees)

Number of Joint Committees (if bicameral): 6 (Public Works, Public Accounts, Subordinate Legislation, Integrity, House, Library)

Names of House Management (such as Privileges or Procedure) Committees: HA House, Library, Privileges, Standing Orders, Printing: LC House, Library, Privileges, Standing Orders.

Articles in The Parliamentarian (2013-2021):

Key Facts

CPA Branch Formed
01 Jan 1927
Voting Age
First Parliament
01 Jan 1825
Seat of Parliament