CPA Parliamentary Academy

Parliament of Australia

Hon. Milton Dick, MP, Speaker of the House of Representatives
Joint CPA Australia Branch President
Federal Parliament of Australia (House of Representatives)
Senator Hon. Sue Lines, President of the Senate
Joint CPA Australia Branch President
Federal Parliament of Australia (Senate of Australia)
Claressa Surtees, Clerk of the House of Representatives
CPA Australia Branch Honorary Secretary
Federal Parliament of Australia

Joined the Commonwealth: Australia joined the early Commonwealth in 1926, although legislation to enact this membership was passed in 1931 under the Statute of Westminster.

CPA Branch Formed: The Parliament of Australia was one of the six original founding Members of the now Commonwealth Parliamentary Association in 1911. The CPA Australia Federal Branch was established on 1 January 1912.

Unicameral/Bicameral: Bicameral - House of Representatives (151), Senate (76)

Parliament/Legislature Website: Parliament of Australia

Standing Orders:

House of Representatives


Constitution: Click here


Number of Departmental/Ministry Oversight Committees: 20 Standing and 6 Select Committees

Number of Joint Committees (if bicameral): 17 Statutory/Standing and & 3 Select Committees

Names of House Management (such as Privileges or Procedure) Committees: Appropriations & Administration (House); Appropriations, Staffing & Security (Senate); Parliamentary Library (Joint); Petitions (House); Privileges (Senate); Privileges & Members' Interests (House); Procedure (House and Senate); Publications (House, Senate and Joint); Scrutiny of Bills (Senate), Scrutiny of Delegated Legislation (Senate); Selection (House); Selection of Bills (Senate); Senators' Interests (Senate).


CPA Blogs

Recent articles in The Parliamentarian

Parliamentary reports and Third Reading reports from the Australia Federal Parliament appear in each issue of The Parliamentarian - visit our archives to find back issues.

Recent activities
  • January 2023 - Speakers meet in Australia for the 26th Conference of Speakers and Presiding Officers of the Commonwealth to discuss parliamentary engagement, innovation and security - click here to read news story

Key Facts

CPA Branch Formed
01 Jan 1912
Voting Age
First Parliament
09 May 1901
Seat of Parliament