67th Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference

Bougainville House of Representatives

Hon. Simon Pentanu, MHR, Speaker of the House of Representatives
CPA Bougainville Branch President
Bougainville House of Representatives spentanu@gmail.com
Robert Tapi, Clerk of the House of Representatives
CPA Bougainville Branch Secretary
Bougainville House of Representatives robert.tapi2009@gmail.com

Joined the Commonwealth: 16 September 1975

CPA Branch formed: 1 January 1952

Unicameral/Bicameral: Unicameral (House of Representatives)

Parliament website: Bougainville House of Representatives

Number of Departmental/Ministry Oversight Committees: Public Accounts Committee

Articles in The Parliamentarian (2013-2021):

  • The Parliamentarian 2019 Issue Two - Hon. Simon G. Pentanu, MHR, Speaker of the Bougainville House of Representatives, Political and Procedural Challenges of a Post-Conflict Parliament
  • The Parliamentarian 2014 Issue One - Hon. Elizabeth Burain MP, Reserved Seats for Women: Encouraging Female Political Participation in the Pacific



Key Facts

CPA Branch Formed
01 Jan 1900
Voting Age
Seat of Parliament