CPA Academy

Parliament of Jamaica

Hon. Marisa Dalrymple-Philibert, MP, Speaker of the House of Representatives
Joint CPA Jamaica Branch President
Parliament of Jamaica
Senator Hon. Thomas Tavares-Finson, CD, QC, JLP, President of the Senate
Joint CPA Jamaica Branch President
Parliament of Jamaica
Ms Valrie Curtis, Clerk to the Houses of Parliament
CPA Jamaica Branch Secretary
Parliament of Jamaica

Joined the Commonwealth: 6 August 1962

CPA Branch formed: 1 January 1933

Unicameral/Bicameral: Bicameral - House of Representatives (63), Senate (21)

Parliament/Legislature website: Houses of Parliament

Number of Departmental/Ministry Oversight Committees: Currently 7.

Number of Joint Committees (if bicameral): 9

Names of House Management (such as Privileges or Procedure) Committees: Standing Orders; House; Privileges; Ethics N.B. (These committees exist in both the Senate and the House of Representatives)

Standing Orders: House of Representatives, Senate

Constitution: click here

Recent articles in The Parliamentarian (2015 to present):



Key Facts

Date of Independence
06 Aug 1962
CPA Branch Formed
01 Jan 1933
Voting Age
Seat of Parliament