The Academy

Parliament of Kiribati

Presiding Officer(s): Hon. Tebuai Uaai
Joined the Commonwealth: 12 July 1979
CPA Branch formed: 1 January 1968
Unicameral/Bicameral: Unicameral (Maneaba ni Maungatabu)

Parliament/Legislature Website: Parliament of Kiribati

Number of Departmental/Ministry Oversight Committees: 1 (Public Accounts). The Maneaba may establish at the beginning of each term more than one Standing Committee.

Number of Joint Committees (if bicameral): N/A

Names of House Management (such as Privileges or Procedure) Committees: Business; Privileges.

Articles in The Parliamentarian (2013-2021):


Recent CPA Programmatic Activities/News:

Hon. Tangariki Reete
Speaker of Parliament
Parliament of Kiribati speaker@parliament.gov.ki
Eni Tekanene
Clerk of Parliament
Parliament of Kiribati clerk@parliament.gov.ki

Key Facts

Date of Independence
12 Jul 1979
CPA Branch Formed
12 Jul 1979
Voting Age
Seat of Parliament
Ambo, Tarawa