CPA Parliamentary Academy

Parliament of Malaysia

H.E. Tan Sri Dato Sri Dr. Haji Wan Junaidi bin Tuanku Jaafar, President of the Senate (Dewan Negara)
Joint CPA Malaysia Branch President
Parliament of Malaysia (Parlimen Malaysia)
H.E. Tan Sri Dato' Johari bin Abdul, Speaker of the House of Representatives (Dewan Rakyat)
Joint CPA Malaysia Branch President
Parliament of Malaysia (Parlimen Malaysia)
Ms Lavinia Vyvaganathan, International Relations
CPA South-East Asia Regional Secretary
Parliament of Malaysia (Parlimen Malaysia)
Ms. Nur Diyana Indah Khudri, International Relations
CPA Malaysia Branch Secretary
Parliament of Malaysia (Parlimen Malaysia)

Joined the Commonwealth: 19 September 1963 (31 August 1957 as the Federation of Malaya)

CPA Branch formed: 19 April 1950

Unicameral/Bicameral: Bicameral – Dewan Negara (70); House of Representatives (222)

Parliament/Legislature website: Parliament of Malaysia

Number of Departmental/Ministry Oversight Committees: Currently 14.

House of Representative (Dewan Rakyat)
• Public Accounts Committee
• Special Select Committee On Finance And Economy
• Special Select Committee On Health
• Special Select Committee On Domestic Trade, Entrepreneurship, Cost Of Living And Agriculture
• Special Select Committee On Infrastructure, Transportation And Communication
• Special Select Committee On Nation Building, Education And Human Resources Development
• Special Select Committee On Women, Children And Community Development
• Special Select Committee On Environment, Science And Plantation
• Special Select Committee On Security
• Special Select Committee On International Relations And International Trade
• Special Select Committee On Human Rights, Election And Institutional Reform

Senate (Dewan Negara)
• Special Select Committee On People's Wellbeing
• Special Select Committee On Socio-Culture, Communication And Education
• Special Select Committee On Governance, Integrity And Anti-Corruption

Names of House Management (such as Privileges or Procedure) Committees: 

Dewan Negara: Committee of Selection; House Committee; Committee of Privileges; Standing Orders Committee

Dewan Rakyat: Committee of Selection; Standing Orders Committee; House Committee; Committee of Privileges

Standing Orders

Dewan Negara

Dewan Rakyat

Constitution: click here

Recent articles in The Parliamentarian: 

Recent CPA Programmatic Activities/News:

  • From 23-26 March 2021, Hon. Datuk Wira Dr Mohd Hatta Md Ramli, MP joined the CPA Treasurer, Hon. Shamsul Iskandar MD Akin, MP, in kindly attending and contributing to the CPA Executive Committee Mid-Year Meeting as one of three Executive Committee members representing the CPA South-East Asia Region.
  • In December 2020, the CPA Headquarters Secretariat welcomed two delegates, representing the CPA Malaysia Branch, at the first ever Virtual Commonwealth Youth Parliament where participants debated a number of issues including youth unemployment and COVID-19.

Key Facts

CPA Branch Formed
19 Apr 1950
Voting Age
First Parliament
09 Nov 1959
Seat of Parliament
Kuala Lumpur