CPA Academy

Parliament of Mauritius

Hon. Phokeer Sooroojdev, GCSK, GOSK, Speaker of the National Assembly
CPA Mauritius Branch President
National Assembly of Mauritius
Mrs Safeena B. Lotun, Clerk of National Assembly
CPA Mauritius Branch Secretary
National Assembly of Mauritius

Joined the Commonwealth: 1st January 1968

CPA Branch Formed: 1st January 1934 

Unicameral/Bicameral: Unicameral - National Assembly (69)

Parliament/Legislature website: National Assembly of Mauritius

Standing Orders: National Assembly

Constitution: Click here


Number of Departmental/Ministry Oversight Committees:  None

Number of Joint Committees (if bicameral): None

Names of House Management (such as Privileges or Procedure) Committees:  None

Articles in The Parliamentarian (2013-2021):

Recent Involvement in CPA Programmes/Events:

  • Mid-Year meetings of the CPA Executive Committee, 20-24 March 2018
  • Technical Assistance Programme (TAP) to establish a Parliamentary Gender Caucus, 2016-2017

Key Facts

CPA Branch Formed
01 Jan 1934
Voting Age
Seat of Parliament
Port Louis