67th Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference

New Zealand Parliament

Rt Hon. Gerry Brownlee, MP, Speaker of the House of Representatives
CPA New Zealand Branch President
New Zealand Parliament cpa@parliament.govt.nz
David Wilson, Clerk of the House of Representatives
CPA New Zealand Branch Secretary
New Zealand Parliament cpa@parliament.govt.nz
Ms Amber Walters, Inter-Parliamentary Relations (IPR) Officer
CPA Pacific Regional Secretariat
New Zealand Parliament cpa@parliament.govt.nz

Joined the Commonwealth: 19 November 1926

CPA Branch formed: 1 November 1911

Unicameral/Bicameral: Unicameral (House of Representatives) 

Parliament/Legislature website: New Zealand Parliament

Number of Departmental/Ministry Oversight Committees: 12 (Economic Development, Science and Innovation; Education and Workforce; Finance and Expenditure; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade; Government Administration; Health; Justice; Law and Order; Environment; Maori Affairs; Primary Production; Social Services and Community; Transport and Infrastructure)

Names of House Management (such as Privileges or Procedure) Committees: Business, Officers of Parliament, Privileges, Regulations Review, and Standing Orders.


Recent articles in The Parliamentarian (2019 to present):

Recent activities:

  • In March 2023, the CPA Secretary-General visited the New Zealand Parliament during his first visit to New Zealand and met with the Speaker of the New Zealand House of Representatives and members of the CPA New Zealand Branch. Read more about the visit here.

Key Facts

Date of Independence
26 Sep 1907
CPA Branch Formed
01 Jan 1911
Voting Age
First Parliament
24 May 1854
Seat of Parliament