67th Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference

Northern Cape Provincial Legislature

Hon. Newrene Claudine Klaaste, MPL, Speaker of the Provincial Legislature
CPA Northern Cape Branch President
Provincial Legislature of Northern Cape
Mr Patrick Moopelwa, Secretary to the Legislature
CPA Northern Cape Branch Secretary
Provincial Legislature of Northern Cape pmoopelwa@ncpg.gov.za

Joined the Commonwealth: 1 June 1994

CPA Branch Formed: 1 January 1996

Unicameral/Bicameral: Unicameral - The Provincial Legislature (30) 

Parliament/Legislature website: Northern Cape Provincial Legislature

Standing Orders: Click here


  • Number of Departmental/Ministry Oversight Committees:
  • Seven including the Standing Committee on Public Accounts (SCOPA).
  • Number of Joint Committees (if bicameral):
  • All Committees form joint committees with SCOPA.
  • Names of House Management (such as Privileges or Procedure) Committees:
  • Standing Committee on Rules; Standing Committee on Chairpersons; Standing Committee on Programmes.

Key Facts

CPA Branch Formed
01 Jan 1996
Voting Age
First Parliament
05 Jan 1994
Seat of Parliament