The Academy

Provincial Legislature of Ontario

Hon. Ted Arnott, MLA, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly
CPA Ontario Branch President
Legislative Assembly of Ontario speakerarnott@ola.org
Mr Todd Decker, Clerk of the Legislative Assembly
CPA Ontario Branch Secretary
Legislative Assembly of Ontario tdecker@ola.org
Grace Bento, Executive Assistant to the Clerk & Administrative Coordinator
CPA Ontario Assistant Branch Secretary
Legislative Assembly of Ontario gbento@ola.org

Joined the Commonwealth: 19 November 1926

CPA Branch formed: 1 January 1930

Unicameral/Bicameral: Unicameral - Legislative Assembly of Ontario (124)

Parliament/Legislature website: Legislative Assembly of Ontario 

Number of Departmental/Ministry Oversight Committees: Currently 7

Standing Committee on Estimates; Standing Committee on Finance and Economic Affairs; Standing Committee on General Government; Standing Committee on Government Agencies; Standing Committee on Justice Policy; Standing Committee on Public Accounts; Standing Committee on Social Policy 

Names of House Management (such as Privileges or Procedure) Committees: 

Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills; Standing Committee on the Legislative Assembly

Standing Orders: Please click here



Recent CPA Programmatic Activities/News:

On 22, 24 February and 1 March 2021, Members and and parliamentary staff from the CPA Ontario Branch supported the CPA Headquarters Secretariat in the delivery of the Post-Election Seminar delivered for members of the Parliament of Trinidad and Tobago. Sessions which saw contributions from the Ontario Legislative Assembly covered a variety of topics, including Parliamentary Privileges and Immunities; The Impact of Technological Innovation and Women's Caucuses.

In December 2020, the CPA Headquarters Secretariat welcomed a delegate, representing the CPA Ontario Branch, at the first ever Virtual Commonwealth Youth Parliament where participants debated a number of issues including youth unemployment and COVID-19.

From 23-26 March 2021, the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Ontario kindly attended and contributed to the CPA Executive Committee Mid-Year Meeting as an alternate representing the CPA Canada Region.

Key Facts

Voting Age
Seat of Parliament