CPA Parliamentary Academy

Parliament of Singapore

Hon. Seah Kian Peng, MP, Speaker of the Parliament
CPA Singapore Branch President
Parliament of Singapore
Siow Han, Deputy Clerk
CPA Singapore Branch Secretary/Treasurer
Parliament of Singapore

Joined the Commonwealth: 9 August 1966

CPA Branch formed: 1 January 1949

Unicameral/Bicameral: Unicameral – Parliament of Singapore (104)

Parliament/Legislature website: Parliament of Singapore

Number of Departmental/Ministry Oversight Committees: Currently 2 - Public Accounts Standing Select Committee; Public Petitions Standing Select Committee     

Names of House Management (such as Privileges or Procedure) Committees: Committee of Selection; Committee of Privileges; Estimates Committee; House Committee; Standing Orders Committee 

Standing Orders: click here

Constitution: click here

Recent CPA Programmatic Activities/News:

The CPA Secretary-General visited the CPA Singapore Branch in January 2023 when he met with the Speaker and various Members of Parliament - click here to read the news story.

From 23-26 March 2021, the Deputy Speaker of the Parliament of Singapore kindly attended and contributed to the CPA Executive Committee Mid-Year Meeting as one of three CPA International Executive Committee Members representing the CPA South-East Asia Region.

Parliamentary staff from the CPA Singapore Branch have contributed to the CPA Parliamentary Academy, by providing a video lecture focusing on The Structure and Composition of Parliaments.

In December 2020, the CPA Headquarters Secretariat welcomed two delegates, representing the CPA Singapore Branch, at the first ever Virtual Commonwealth Youth Parliament where participants debated a number of issues including youth unemployment and COVID-19.

Key Facts

Date of Independence
09 Aug 1965
CPA Branch Formed
01 Jan 1949
Voting Age
First Parliament
12 Aug 1965
Seat of Parliament