The Academy

Parliament of South Africa

CPA Branch President(s): Hon. Thandi Modise, Speaker of the National Assembly of South Africa 

Presiding Officer(s): Hon. Thandi Modise, Speaker of the National Assembly of South Africa and Hon. Amos Masondo, Chairperson of the National Council of Provinces of South Africa.

Joined the Commonwealth: Re-joined on 1 June 1994

Unicameral/Bicameral: Bicameral - The National Assembly (400), The National Council of Provinces (90)

Parliament website: https://www.parliament.gov.za/

Standing Orders: The National Assembly

The National Council of Provinces

Constitution: Click here

Number of Departmental/Ministry Oversight Committees: 

There are 46 Parliamentary Committees (25 Portfolio Committees, 11 Select Committees, four Standing Committees, four Joint Committees, one Ad Hoc Committee and one Committee). 

Number of Portfolio Committees (if bicameral):

National Assembly (25): Portfolio Committee on Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development; Portfolio Committee on Basic Education; Portfolio Committee on Communications; Portfolio Committee on Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs; Portfolio Committee on Defence and Military Veterans; Portfolio Committee on Employment and Labour; Portfolio Committee on Environment, Forestry and Fisheries; Portfolio Committee on Health; Portfolio Committee on Higher Education, Science and Technology; Portfolio Committee on Home Affairs; Portfolio Committee on Human Settlements, Water and Sanitation; Portfolio Committee on International Relations and Cooperation; Portfolio Committee on Justice and Correctional Services; Portfolio Committee on Mineral Resources and Energy; Portfolio Committee on Police; Portfolio Committee on Public Enterprises; Portfolio Committee on Public Service and Administration; Portfolio Committee on Public Works and Infrastructure; Portfolio Committee on Small Business Development; Portfolio Committee on Social Development; Portfolio Committee on Sports, Arts and Culture; Portfolio Committee on Tourism; Portfolio Committee on Trade and Industry; Portfolio Committee on Transport; Portfolio Committee on Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities.

Number of Select Committees: 11

Select Committee on Appropriations; Select Committee on Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Water and Sanitation and Human Settlements; Select Committee on Education and Technology, Sports, Arts and Culture; Select Committee on Finance; Select Committee on Health and Social Services; Select Committee on Land Reform, Environment, Mineral Resources and Energy; Select Committee on Petitions and Executive Undertakings; Select Committee on Public Enterprises and Communication; Select Committee on Security and Justice; Select Committee on Trade and Industry, Economic Development, Small Business Development, Tourism, Employment and Labour; Select Committee on Transport, Public Service and Administration, Public Works and Infrastructure. 

Number of Standing Committees: 4

Standing Committee on Appropriations; Standing Committee on Auditor-General; Standing Committee on Finance, and Standing Committee on Public Accounts. 

Number of Joint Committees: 4

Joint Standing Committee on Defence; Joint Standing Committee on Financial Management of Parliament; Joint Standing Committee on Intelligence and; Joint Committee on Ethics and Members' Interest.

Number of Ad-Hoc Committees: 1

Ad Hoc Committee to initiate and Introduce Legislation amending Section 25 of the Constitution

Number of Committees: 1

Committee on Multi-Party Women's Caucus

Articles in The Parliamentarian (2013-2021)

Hon. Maj. Gen. Thandi Modise, MP
Joint Branch President
Parliament of South Africa tmodise@parliament.gov.za
Hon. Amos Masondo MP
Joint Branch President
Parliament of South Africa chairpersonsoffice@parliament.gov.za
Penelope Tyawa
Branch Secretary
Parliament of South Africa btyawa@parliament.gov.za

Key Facts

Date of Independence
31 May 1961
CPA Branch Formed
31 May 1961
Voting Age
Seat of Parliament
Cape Town