67th Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference

Parliament of Sri Lanka

Hon. Mahinda Yapa Abeywardana, MP, Speaker of the Parliament
CPA Sri Lanka Branch President
Parliament of Sri Lanka cpa@parliament.lk
Mrs Kushani Rohanadeera, Secretary-General of Parliament
CPA Sri Lanka Branch Secretary
Parliament of Sri Lanka cpa@parliament.lk

Joined the Commonwealth: 4 February 1948 

CPA Branch formed: 4 February 1948  

Capital City/Seat of Parliament: Sri Jayewardenpura Kotte 

Unicameral/Bicameral: Unicameral – Parliament (225 Members) 

Parliament/Legislature website: https://www.parliament.lk/ 

Number of Departmental/Ministry Oversight Committees: 30

Recent Articles in The Parliamentarian:


Recent CPA Programmatic Activities/News:

  • In June 2024, over forty Commonwealth Clerks and parliamentary officials from across the CPA’s membership attended the CPA Advanced Residency Programme for Leadership in Parliament in Colombo, Sri Lanka. This was the first Residency Programme held for Clerks and parliamentary officials as part of the CPA Parliamentary Academy.
  • In 2023, the CPA Secretary-General visited the Parliament of Sri Lanka and CPA Sri Lanka Branch - click here to read about this visit.
  • In 2021, Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians from the CPA Asia Region, including the CPA Sri Lanka Branch, joined the discussion on how Commonwealth Parliaments can effectively establish gender sensitive practices as the CWP network hosted its virtual roundtable on gender sensitive Parliaments.
  • In 2019, delegations from the CPA Sri Lanka Branch attended the 5th CPA Asia Regional Conference on the theme of ‘Envisioning Parliamentary Paths towards a Diverse and Developed South Asia,' hosted in Pakistan.
  • To mark Commonwealth Day 2018, young people from the CPA Commonwealth Day Youth Programme, including young representatives from the CPA Sri Lanka Branch, attended the Commonwealth Day service.
  • In 2018, the CPA Sri Lanka Branch were represented at the 9th Commonwealth Youth Parliament in Jersey.
  • In 2018, The Global Parliamentarians Forum for Evaluation (GPFE) together with EvalPartners, the Sri Lanka Parliamentarians Forum for Evaluation, Prime Minister’s Office of Sri Lanka, Parliament of Sri Lanka, and the Sri Lanka Evaluation Association, hosted #EvalColombo2018 to promote demand and use of evaluation by Parliamentarians through dialogue and exchange, and to generate innovative approaches to policy making using evaluation as a tool.
  • Between 2018-2020, the Parliament of Sri Lanka took part in the Commonwealth Partnership for Democracy (#CP4D) programme aimed at strengthening democratic institutions and promoting good governance across Commonwealth countries.


Key Facts

Date of Independence
04 Feb 1948
CPA Branch Formed
01 Jan 1900
Voting Age
First Parliament
14 Oct 1947
Seat of Parliament
Sri Jayewardenpura Kotte