CPA Parliamentary Academy

St Helena Legislative Council

Mr Cyril Gunnell, MLC, Speaker of the Legislative Council
CPA St Helena Branch President
Legislative Council of St Helena
Ms Anita Legg, Clerk to the Legislative Council
CPA St Helena Branch Secretary
Legislative Council of St Helena

Joined the Commonwealth (via the UK): 19 November 1926

CPA Branch Formed: Subsidiary branch initially then Auxiliary Branch in 1973.

Unicameral/Bicameral: Unicameral - Legislative Council (12)

Parliament/Legislature website: Legislative Council of St Helena

Standing Orders: Click here


Number of Departmental/Ministry Oversight Committees: Eight - Access and Transport Committee; Civil Society, Tourism and Leisure Committee; Economy and Finance Committee; Education and Employment Committee; Health and Social Welfare Committee; Home and International Committee; Infrastructure and Utilities Committee; and, the Natural Resources, Development and Environment Committee.

Names of House Management (such as Privileges or Procedure) Committees: Public Accounts Committee -section 69 of the St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha (Constitution) Order, 2009 refers.

Recent articles in The Parliamentarian (2016 to present):

Forthcoming and recent activities:

Key Facts

CPA Branch Formed
01 Jan 1970
Voting Age
First Parliament
20 May 1905
Seat of Parliament