CPA Parliamentary Academy

Parliament of Tanzania

Hon. Dr Tulia Ackson Mwansasu, MP, Speaker of the National Assembly
CPA Tanzania Branch President
National Assembly of Tanzania
Ms. Nenelwa Joyce Mwihambi, Clerk of the National Assembly
CPA Tanzania Branch Secretary
National Assembly of Tanzania

Joined the Commonwealth: 1 January 1961

CPA Branch Formed: 1 January 1962

Unicameral/Bicameral: Unicameral - National Assembly (319)

Parliament/Legislature website: National Assembly of Tanzania

Standing Orders: National Assembly

Constitution: Click here


Number of Departmental/Ministry Oversight Committees:  6 Departments. 13 Parliamentary Standing Committees.

Names of House Management (such as Privileges or Procedure) Committees:  1. The Parliamentary Services Commission. 2. The Parliamentary Standing Committee.

Recent Articles in The Parliamentarian:

Recent Involvement in CPA Programmes:

  • CWP Africa Region Gender Sensitization Workshop on Advancing Women’s Participation in Electoral Processes, 25-29 October 2019

Key Facts

Date of Independence
09 Dec 1961
CPA Branch Formed
01 Jan 1962
Voting Age
First Parliament
01 Jan 1962
Seat of Parliament