CPA Academy

Parliament of Tonga

Lord Fakafanua, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly
CPA Tonga Branch President
Parliament of Tonga
Gloria Guttenbeil-Pole'o, Clerk of the House
CPA Tonga Branch Secretary
Parliament of Tonga

Joined the Commonwealth: 4 June 1970

CPA Branch formed: 1 January 1958

Unicameral/Bicameral: Unicameral (Legislative Assembly)

Parliament/Legislature website: Parliament of Tonga

Number of Departmental/Ministry Oversight Committees: 6 (Finance & Public Accounts; Climate Change & Environment; Legislation; Social Services; Foreign Affairs, Defence & Trade; Agriculture)

Names of House Management (such as Privileges or Procedure) Committees: Privileges Committee; Business and Agenda Committee


Articles in The Parliamentarian (2013-2021):

  • The Parliamentarian 2020 Issue Two - Mele Fonua, CYP10 participant from Tonga, Article about the Tonga Youth Parliament and news story
  • The Parliamentarian 2014 Issue Three - Ms Silivia 'Atiola, Practice Parliament 2014: A new Era for the Women of Tonga




Key Facts

Date of Independence
01 Jan 1970
CPA Branch Formed
01 Jan 1958
Voting Age
Seat of Parliament
Nuku' Alofa