The Academy
Commonwealth Parliamentarians with Disabilities

The Barriers Persons with Disabilities Face to Electoral and Parliamentary Engagement | A Global Disability Summit Side-Event

Online
Add to Calendar

Event Details

Date: 17 February 2022

Time: 04:00 EST / 09:00 GMT / 12:00 EAT / 14:30 IST / 20:00 AEDT

Location: Online

Format: Panel discussion

Hosts: The Commonwealth Parliamentarians with Disabilities network and Sightsavers

Overview

This session will discuss the electoral and political participation of people with disabilities in Commonwealth jurisdictions and how barriers preventing such participation can be overcome. 

This session will look to highlight the importance of people with disabilities taking part in decision-making at all levels, to influence policies that affect their lives, with existing success stories and examples of best practice. From voting independently in elections to appearing as witnesses on parliamentary committees to standing as candidates in elections, the importance of people with disabilities having a stake in policy-making is critical in 2022.

The panel will showcase the initiatives that Sightsavers and the CPA are working on to encourage the inclusion of people with disabilities in democracy. The session will focus on four dimensions of exclusion (Attitudinal, Environmental, Institutional and Data) and how exclusion in each of these areas plays a damaging role in preventing the effective and full participation of people with disabilities in democracy.

This is an official Global Disability Summit side-event. The International Disability Alliance (IDA), the Government of Norway, and the Government of Ghana will host the second Global Disability Summit on 16 and 17 February 2022 (GDS22). The Summit will mobilise efforts for the implementation of the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD), the principle of ‘Leave No One Behind’ (LNOB) and building back better and more inclusive with regards to COVID-19.

Speakers

Moderator

Richard Rieser, General Secretary of the Commonwealth Disabled People’s Forum

Panel

  • Hon. Dennitah Ghati HSC MP (Kenya), Chairperson of the Commonwealth Parliamentarians with Disabilities (CPwD) network
  • Joseph Oye, Country Director, Sightsavers Cameroon
  • TBC

Registration 

This event will be held on Zoom and requires registration in advance. Once your registration has been approved, you will receive an email with a link to join the event.

Register ->

Accessibility

Sign language translation will be provided during this event, along with a palantypist providing live transcription.

The CPA is committed to inclusivity and accessibility at all its events and programmes. Should you have any accessibility requirements, please contact the event coordinator (see below).

Contact Us

If you have any questions regarding this event, please contact Clive Barker, CPwD Co-ordinator, at clive.barker@cpahq.org.

Related Resources

CPwD Disability Inclusion Guidelines - Facilities of Inclusion

The CPwD Disability Inclusion Guidelines provide guidance to Commonwealth Parliaments and Legislatures on how to enhance and sensitize their communications with persons with disabilities.

CPwD Disability Inclusion Guidelines - Linguistic Principles

The CPwD Disability Inclusion Guidelines provide guidance to Commonwealth Parliaments and Legislatures on how to enhance and sensitize their communications with persons with disabilities.