The Academy
Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians

NGO CSW Forum 66 | Gender and Climate Change: Interactions and Opportunities for Progress

Online
Add to Calendar

Event Details

Date: 14 March 2022

Time: : 06:00 EDT / 10:00 GMT / 13:00 EAT / 15:30 IST / 21:00 AEDT

Location: Online

Format: Panel discussion

This is a parallel event to the NGO CSW66 Forum.The NGO CSW66 Forum is the civil society side of the UN Commission on the Status of Women (CSW). The Forum runs parallel to the official CSW session taking place at the UN Headquarters in New York.
CSW is the principle global intergovernmental body dedicated to the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women.

Overview

For the fight against climate change to be successful, we must recognise and promote women as vital changemakers and ensure their seat at the policy and decision-making table. Nonetheless, at the 2021 UN Climate Change Conference it was highlighted that there continues to be “a persistent lack of progress” in women’s in-person participation at such high-level meetings, as well as “an urgent need” for improving the representation and leadership of women across all bodies established under the UNFCCC, the Kyoto Protocol and the Paris Agreement.

Employing a gender-responsive approach to climate policy and planning cannot, however, be guaranteed through increased representation of women alone. This session will discuss and consider other important support mechanisms, both through traditional project support, through allocation of funding streams or through climate-focused gender analysis.

In delivering this message and issuing a call to action, this session will aim to highlight the gender-specific impacts of climate change, and the importance of more inclusive leadership. Importantly, these conversations will also highlight the value of increased oversight of government efforts to address the ongoing climate crisis, including through increases in the presence of climate-focused parliamentary committees, effective post-legislative scrutiny and more robust gender-based budget scrutiny relating to the climate crisis.

Speakers

  • Ms Gauri Singh, Deputy Director-General of IRENA
  • Hon. Jeehan Mahmood MP – Member of the People’s Majlis of Maldives and Chair of the Human Rights and Gender Committee
  • Hon. Regina Esparon MNA – Member of the National Assembly of Seychelles and Chair of the Women’s Parliamentary Caucus

Registration 

This event will be held on Zoom and requires registration in advance. Once your registration has been approved, you will receive an email with a link to join the event.

Register ->

Accessibility

The CPA is committed to inclusivity and accessibility at all its events and programmes. Should you have any accessibility requirements, please contact the CPA Secretariat at hq.sec@cpahq.org.

Contact Us

If you have any questions regarding this event, please contact James Pinnell, Deputy Head of Programmes, at james.pinnell@cpahq.org.

Related Resources

Climate Change and Small States: Parliamentary Toolkit

The Toolkit seeks to support parliamentarians from small states and jurisdictions to increase their understanding of Climate Change and how best to ensure adaptation and mitigation strategies are in place domestically and internationally.