The Academy
Education

Roundtable: Education Financing

Online
Add to Calendar

Event Details

The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) is inviting its membership to attend this high-level roundtable for Parliamentarians on education financing with the International Parliamentary Network for Education (IPNEd). The CPA is also working with IPNEd to provide a briefing document for Commonwealth Parliamentarians on this topic.

Date: Thursday 3rd June 2021

Time: 10.00 EDT | 15.00 BST | 17.00 EAT | 19.00 PKT | 23.00 JST

Location: Online (Zoom)

Host organisation: International Parliamentary Network for Education (IPNEd)

The combined impacts of school closures and economic crisis brought on by COVID-19 means that the education financing gap, which is a primary driver of children's inability to access education, is now set to rise by up to one-third.
Join fellow Parliamentarians from around the world for a discussion on how national governments and the international community can prevent the worst education outcomes and get children's learning back on track by investing in education at home and abroad as the key to the recovery from COVID-19.
The majority of the meeting will be devoted to an exchange of views and experiences from participating Members of Parliament. There will also be an opportunity for Parliamentarians to ask questions to the panel of speakers.

The meeting will be conducted in English with simultaneous translation to French and Spanish.
This event is hosted by the International Parliamentary Network for Education (IPNEd). CPA Members are invited to attend.

Speakers

  • Hon. Julia Gillard, Chair of the Board of Directors of the Global Partnership for Education and former Prime Minister of Australia
  • Rt Hon. Gordon Brown, UN Special Envoy for Education and former Prime Minister of the United Kingdom
  • Hon. Dr David Sengeh, Minister of Education, Sierra Leone
  • Nyaradzayi Gumbonzvanda, Chair, ActionAid International
  • Shradha Koirala, GPE Youth Leader and Senior Program Coordinator of the National Campaign for Education Nepal

 

Registration

This event is for Parliamentarians and key stakeholders. To attend the event, you must pre-register via Zoom. Once your registration has been confirmed, you will receive the Zoom link to participate in the event. To register, please use the link below, rather than the 'register your interest' form at the bottom of the page.

Please note that this is not a CPA organised event. Registrations will be managed by IPNEd and all enquiries about the event should be sent to info@ipned.org.  

 

Register on Zoom