CPA Academy

Parliament of The Bahamas

Hon. Patricia Deveaux MP, Speaker of the House of Assembly
Joint CPA Bahamas Branch President
Parliament of the Bahamas
Senator Hon. J. LaShell Adderley, President of the Senate
Joint CPA Bahamas Branch President
Parliament of The Bahamas
Mr David Forbes, Clerk of Parliament
CPA Bahamas Branch Secretary
Parliament of The Bahamas

Joined the Commonwealth: 10 July 1973

CPA Branch formed: 1 January 1933

Unicameral/Bicameral: Bicameral - House of Assembly (39), Senate (16)

Parliament/Legislature website:  Parliament of The Bahamas

Standing Orders: click here

Constitution: click here


Recent CPA Bilateral Programmatic Activities/News:

CPA Post-Election Seminar for the Parliament of The Bahamas

The CPA Post-Election Seminar which ran from the 15-17 December 2021 in Nassau, New Providence, provided a valuable opportunity to help shape the parliamentary careers of the newly elected and returning Members of both the House and Senate to develop their skills and understanding of parliamentary democracy. The programme covered areas focusing on parliamentary practice and procedure, administration and financing of Parliament, public outreach and engagement, the role of select committees as well as key Commonwealth values and principles, such as the Latimer House Principles on the Separation of Powers.

Read the Outcomes report below:

Read the Outcomes Report

Outcomes Report: CPA Post-Election Seminar, Parliament of The Bahamas

This report provides the outcomes of a Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Post-Election Seminar held from 15 to 17 December 2021 for newly elected and returning Members of Parliament in The Bahamas.

Key Facts

Date of Independence
10 Jul 1973
CPA Branch Formed
01 Jan 1932
Voting Age
Seat of Parliament