CPA Parliamentary Academy

National Assembly of Nigeria

Rt Hon. Tajudeen Abbas, Speaker of the House of Representatives
CPA Nigeria Federal Branch President
National Assembly of Nigeria
Mr Sani Magaji Tambuwal, Clerk of the National Assembly
CPA Nigeria Federal Branch Secretary
National Assembly of Nigeria

Presiding Officer(s): Rt Hon. Tajudeen Abbas, MP, Speaker of the Federal House of Representatives of Nigeria and Senator Hon. Godswill Akpabio, President of the Federal Senate of Nigeria.

Joined the Commonwealth: 1 October 1960

CPA Branch formed: 1 January 1961

Unicameral/Bicameral: Bicameral

Parliament website: Click here

Number of Departmental/Ministry Oversight Committees:

Senate: 43
House of Representatives: 64

Number of Joint Committees (if bicameral): 4

Names of House Management (such as Privileges or Procedure) Committees: Ethics and Privilege, House Service, Rules & Business, Senate Committee on Ethics


CPA Blogs

    Articles in The Parliamentarian (2013 to present) and online

    Recent CPA activities
    • In November 2021, the 51st CPA Africa Regional Conference took place in Abuja, Nigeria.

    Key Facts

    Date of Independence
    01 Oct 1960
    CPA Branch Formed
    01 Jan 1961
    Voting Age
    First Parliament
    01 Oct 1960
    Seat of Parliament