CPA Parliamentary Academy

Provincial Assembly of Punjab

Hon. Malik Muhammad Ahmad Khan, MPA, Speaker of the Provincial Assembly of Punjab
CPA Punjab Branch President
Provincial Assembly of Punjab
Mr Amer Habib, Secretary of the Provincial Assembly of Punjab
CPA Punjab Branch Secretary
Provincial Assembly of Punjab
Mr Ali Shan Awan, Data Processing Officer
CPA Punjab Focal Person
Provincial Assembly of Punjab

Joined the Commonwealth: 14 August 1947 

CPA Branch formed: 1 January 1954 

Capital City/Seat of Parliament: Lahore 

Unicameral/Bicameral:  Unicameral (371) 

Parliament/Legislature website: 

Number of Departmental/Ministry Oversight Committees: 21

Names of House Management (such as Privileges or Procedure) Committees: Privileges; Finance Committee of the Assembly.

Recent CPA Programmatic Activities/News:

  • In 2019, Hon. Chaudhry Parvez Elahi, Speaker of the Punjab Assembly alongside Parliamentarians from the CPA Punjab Branch, attended the 5th CPA Asia Regional Conference on the theme of ‘Envisioning Parliamentary Paths towards a Diverse and Developed South Asia.'
  • In 2021, Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians from the CPA Asia Region, including the CPA Punjab Branch, joined the discussion on how Commonwealth Parliaments can effectively establish gender sensitive practices as the CWP network hosted its virtual roundtable on gender sensitive Parliaments.

Key Facts

Date of Independence
14 Aug 1947
CPA Branch Formed
01 Jan 1954
Voting Age
First Parliament
15 Aug 1947
Seat of Parliament